Cart 0

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne was born in Dublin in 1954. She has a BA in English and an MA in Medieval Studies from University College, Dublin. Éilís later won a folklore scholarship to the University of Copenhagen, Denmark and completed her PhD in the field of folklore studies there in 1982.

Éilís is a novelist, short-story writer and dramatist in both English and Irish. She was elected to Aosdána in 2003. Cois Life published two of her dramas in 1998, Milseog an tsamhraidh agus Dún na mban trí thine. Other dramas Éilís has penned include: The nettle spinner (performed at The Peacock Theatre, Dublin; 1998) and her dramas for radio, Casadh an Taperecorder and Bábóga. She has won many awards, including the Stewart Parker Award and the Bisto Book of the Year Award as well as bursaries from an Chomhairle Ealaíon in 1986 and 1998. Her novel, The dancers dancing (Blackstaff Press/Headline, 2000) was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2000. She has also won Oireachtas prizes in 2000, 2006 and 2008 for her novels, Dúnmharú sa Daingean (Cois Life, 2000), Hurlamaboc (Cois Life, 2006) and Dún an airgid (Cois Life, 2008) respectively. Hurlamboc (Cois Life, 2006) was nominated for an IBBY award (International Board on Books for Young People), and Hurlamaboc (Cois Life, 2006) and Dún an airgid (Cois Life, 2008) were also shortlisted for Gradam Uí Shúilleabháin. Dordán (Cois Life) – a lively novel about the difficulties of being a teenager these days – was published in 2011. In 2015, Cois Life published her novel, Aisling nó iníon A.

Her works have been translated into German, French, Dutch, Danish, Russian, Slovenian, Japanese and other languages besides. Éilís spent many years working as a librarian at the National Library of Ireland and is currently teaching students on the MA in Creative Writing at University College, Dublin.

More information about Éilís here.

Updated June 2017


Dún an airgid (Cois Life, 2008)
Fox, swallow, scarecrow (Blackstaff Press, 2007)
Cailíní beaga Ghleann na mBláth (Cois Life,2003)
Dúnmharú sa Daingean (Cois Life, 2000)
The dancers dancing (Blackstaff Press/Headline, 2000)
Singles (Basement Press, 1994) (Elizabeth O’Hara)
The Bray house (Attic Press, 1990)


Milseog an tsamhraidh agus dún na mban trí thine (Cois Life, 1998)
The nettle spinner (Taibhithe in Amharclann na Péacóige, 1998)

Short Stories

Midwife to the fairies (Attic Press, 2003)
The pale gold of Alaska (Blackstaff Press/Headline, 2000)
The inland ice and other stories (Blackstaff Press, 1997)
Eating women is not recommended (Attic Press, 1992)
Blood and water [and other stories] (Attic Press, 1988)

Young People

Aisling nó iníon A (Cois Life, 2015)
Snobs, dogs and scobies (Little Island, 2012)
Dordán (Cois Life, 2011)
Hurlamaboc (Cois Life, 2006)
The sparkling rain (Poolbeg, 2003)
Penny-farthing Sally (Poolbeg, 1996)
Blackberry Sunday (Poolbeg, 1994)
The hiring fair (Poolbeg, 1993)
The uncommon cormorant (Poolbeg, 1990)

Editing Work

WB Yeats. Works and days (National Library of Ireland, 2006)
Northern lights, a festschrift for Bo Almqvist (UCD Press, 2001) [i gcomhar le Séamas Ó Catháin]
Voices on the wind, women poets of the Celtic twilight (New Island Books, 1995)
Viking Ale, festscrift for Prof. Bo Almqvist (Boethius Press, 1991) [i gcomhar le Séamas Ó Catháin]

Éilís Ní Dhuibhne at Cois Life

Cló Iar-Chonnacht