Cart 0

Dermot Somers

For the past forty years Dermot Somers has been traveling and hiking all over the world, from the Alps to the Andes to the Himalayas. He was a member of mountain expeditions to Changste, Tibet in 1987, to Manaslu, Nepal in 1991, and to Mount Everest, Tibet in 1993. He has published three collections of short stories: Mountains and other ghosts (Diadem Books, 1990), At the rising of the moon (Baton Wicks, 1994, and, the most recent of them, Collected short stories (Baton Wicks, 2004). At the rising of the moon (Baton Wicks, 1994) won the Boardman Tasker Prize for mountain literature. Endurance (O’Brien Press), a historical and mythological book describing famous journeys throughout Ireland, was published in 2005.  He was awarded an Oireachtas Prize for his non-fiction work, Rince ar na ballaí (Cois Life, 2002). His novel Buaic (Cois Life, 2006) won an award from the Reading Association of Ireland.

He has made three television series for TG4 and RTÉ in collaboration with Crossing the Lines Films: Cuairt na cruinne (Best Documentary Award, Celtic Film & TV Festival for the Eiger programme), An Bealach ó dheas and Turas feasa. He has also made travel programmes with herdsmen with CTL Films. The series is called Turais i mbaol – An tSibéir (2001), An Sahára (2002), An Iaráin (2004), and the fourth – Trasna na Himiléithe, Dolpo, Neipeal (2008). He has taken part in the production of the travel and historical series in Australia, Craiceann geal: croí marbh, and in the Artic, Franklin: tásc agus tuairisc.

Updated June 2017


Ar muir is ar sliabh (Cois Life, 2010)
Buaic (Cois Life, 2006)

Short Stories

Endurance (O’Brien Press, 2005)
Collected short stories (Baton Wicks, 2004)
At the rising of the moon (Baton Wicks, 1994)
Mountains and other ghosts (Diadem Books,1990)


Rince ar na ballaí (Cois Life, 2002)

Dermot Somers at Cois Life

Cló Iar-Chonnacht